Victoria Regional Transit Commission

Many of the decisions regarding transit services and funding in the Victoria region are made by the Victoria Regional Transit Commission. The Commission is appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council from persons holding elected office, chosen from municipalities specified in the BC Transit Act.

The regional commission in Victoria consists of at least seven members. Two members of the Commission are appointed as directors of the BC Transit Board of Directors under the provisions of the BC Transit Act. In the Victoria regional transit service area, the Commission is responsible for:

  • determining route configurations and transit service levels,
  • setting fares,
  • reviewing and making recommendations for the annual operating budget and capital spending, and
  • raising the local share of the annual cost of transit service in the region.

More Information

For more information on the Commission, please email, or call 250-385-2551.

Delegation Information

If you wish to appear as a delegation at a Commission meeting on local transit items, the request must be received no later than 10 business days prior to the meeting date. Delegations are heard at the discretion of the Chair. Please email your name, phone number, and email or mailing address along with a note on the issue to the attention of: or phone 250-385-2551 and ask to speak to the Commission secretary.

Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee

The purpose of the Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee (ATAC) is to provide advice to the Victoria Regional Transit Commission (VRTC) and BC Transit on transit for persons with a disability in the Victoria Region, including review and comment on plans, projects, and operating policy and guidelines.


Here are the current and archived meeting schedules and minutes for the VRTC.


Here is a list of all members of the Victoria Regional Transit Commission and their contact information.