# VICTORIA REGIONAL TRANSIT COMMISSION CHAIR & MEMBERS

#10

June 13, 2023

PREPARED FOR: Victoria Regional Transit Commission Committee

# **PURPOSE:**

Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee (ATAC) Membership Update

To provide the Commission with a summary report of the business conducted by ATAC. This report is presented to the Commission for INFORMATION and APPROVAL.

# **BACKGROUND**

On an annual basis, ATAC recruits and selects new members, as well as recommends the reappointment of existing members to the Committee's membership. Applicants with experiential knowledge of accessibility issues are appointed by the VRTC for a 2-year term, through a publicly-advertised application process administered by BC Transit. The Committee shall consist of seven (7) to a maximum of eleven (11) members.

#### DISCUSSION

Recruitment for new Committee members started in November 2022. Promotion of the opportunity included advertisements in the Times-Colonist, posting on the BC Transit website, and notices mailed to community organizations that support seniors and people with disabilities, encouraging their membership or staff members to apply for ATAC. Applicants were also invited to attend the March 20, 2023 ATAC meeting to ensure the work of the Committee was what they expected.

Applications for new Committee members were reviewed by the BC Transit Staff Liaison and ATAC's Chair and Vice-Chair, and interviews were then conducted with those applicants who met the membership criteria. A total of four (4) new applicants, and three (3) returning members are seeking the Commission's approval for Committee Membership for the two (2) year term, June 2023 – 2025.

A summary of the background of the applicants is attached to this update.

Mr. Don Monsour has been the Chair of the Accessible Transportation Committee since 2018 and a member of the Committee since 2015. Ms. Suzan Jennings has been a member of the Committee since 2016 and has been Vice-Chair since 2021. Both Mr. Monsour and Ms. Jennings are willing to remain as Chair and Vice-Chair of the Committee.

# RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended that the Victoria Regional Transit Commission RECEIVE the ATAC Update for INFORMATION.

It is recommended that the Victoria Regional Transit Commission APPROVE the reappointment of the following ATAC Committee members – Mr. D. Monsour, Ms. S.Jennings and Ms. K. Highsted for a 2 year (June 2023 – 2025) term.

It is recommended that the Victoria Regional Transit Commission APPROVE the appointment of the following applicants as new Committee Members for a 2 year (June 2023 – 2025) term: Mr. C. Brennan, Ms. T. Pokorny, Mr. J. Wang and Ms. D. Young.

It is recommended that the Victoria Regional Transit Commission APPROVE the appointment of Mr. D. Monsour as Chair and Ms. S. Jennings as Vice-Chair of the 2023-2025 Accessible Transportation Advisory Committee

Prepared by: Kelli-Ann Armstrong Phone: 250-812-0415

Position: Manager, Service Delivery Date prepared: May 23, 2023

Approved by: Matthew Boyd Phone:

Position: Director, Victoria Operations