Applicant Tracking System FAQ
Browse our User Guides and a list of frequently asked questions about our new online Applicant Tracking System. Don't see your question below? Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org
More to come soon...
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I apply for a job at BC Transit?
As of June 15, 2016, we only accept applications through our online Applicant Tracking System (ATS). To get started in our ATS, please feel free to check out our User Guides above for instructions on creating an account, applying for jobs, and creating job search agents.
I submitted an application before the ATS launched on June 15th. What happened to my application? Do I need to reapply if the posting is still open?
Your application will still be included in any competitions that were open or in progress when we moved to our new system. You do not need to re-apply if you have already applied to the same competition before June 15th.
I am an internal BC Transit employee, how do I find internal jobs?
For the time being, internal postings will appear on the main Careers site as before. They will be identified as internal postings by the phrase ‘Internal Only’ in parentheses next to the Job Title.
I am an internal BC Transit employee, do I already have an ATS Account?
If you are an Approver, Hiring Manager or Recruiter in the ATS System, you will already have an internal ATS Account. Please use this same account to log in to the Careers site as a Job Seeker. Using the same account prevents duplicate accounts and allows us to more easily identify you as an Internal Candidate.
If you don’t have an existing account and are creating a new one, we recommend you use your BC Transit Email address when registering.
Please contact Human Resources if you have questions about your account.
Can I create an account without applying for a job?
Yes. You may want to create an account in order to set up a Job Search Agent, or you may want to create a default Resume Profile and Cover Letter to keep on file.
What is a Job Search Agent?
A Job Search Agent is a tool that sends you an email notification whenever a new job posting matches your pre-defined search criteria. Instructions for creating, editing or removing Job Search Agents are found in our User Guide section at the top of this page.
Can I create multiple Resume Profiles and Cover Letters for different jobs?
You can only have one version of your Resume Profile at any one time, however you can create multiple Cover Letters. To do this, go to the Cover Letter section of your Career Centre.
After uploading my resume to the HTML editor, the formatting looks different than my original document.
When you upload your resume, your document text will be converted to HTML and you may lose some formatting. You can reformat your resume in the editing box to make your resume more readable.
Note that the formatted file version of your resume that you uploaded will also be viewable to Recruiters. You can see your original uploaded file in the Resume Attachments section of your Career Centre.
When trying to upload my resume, I get an error message that says "the system was unable to parse the uploaded file successfully".
A parsing error usually means there is an image or other non-text object in your document that is preventing the system from uploading your file. Check that your resume contains text only and is in one of the following accepted file formats: *.rtf., *.doc, *.docx, *.txt or *.pdf (text-based pdf, not a scanned image). If you still have issues, contact us at email@example.com for further assistance.
I cannot see the selected file when trying to upload an attachment for my application.
This is likely a browser issue. When selecting a file to upload, it sometimes appears as if the attachment has not been selected. However, if you click the “OK” button (even if you cannot see the filename next to the Browse field), you should be able to see the uploaded file appear afterwards. If you still cannot see your attachment after uploading, please save your draft application and email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
Which internet browsers are most compatible with the ATS?
The ATS supports the last two versions of the four major browsers (Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Internet Explorer). We recommend Chrome for best results. If you encounter formatting issues, check that you are using a supported version or try using another browser.
Attachments from a previous application are appearing in my current application. Can I remove these?
Any attachments you upload will remain on your account until you actively remove them. You can see your existing attachments in the Resume Attachments section of your Career Centre. To remove any irrelevant attachments, scroll to the right of the page and click the Delete Attachment (X) icon.
I started an application, but couldn’t finish it in one sitting. Can I save my progress and finish the application later?
Yes. At any time during the application process, you can save your work by clicking the Finish Later button that appears at the bottom of each page. The next time you log in to ATS, you will see an alert reminding you that you have an incomplete application. Click the link in the alert to go to your Resume Submission History where you can see incomplete application. Click the arrow icon to continue with your application.
I submitted an application but now wish to remove my resume from the competition. Can I withdraw from the competition after I’ve submitted my application?
Yes. However, once you withdraw you will not be able to reapply to the same posting in the future. Also, you can only withdraw while the posting is still active – once the position has been filled, the option to withdraw is no longer available.
To withdraw your application, log in to the ATS and go to the Resume Submission History section in your Career Centre. For the posting in which you wish to withdraw, select "Remove Self from Consideration" from the Actions column.
I would like to delete my ATS Account. How do I do this?
To delete your account, go to the Delete My Account section in your Career Centre. Note that this option is only available to external Job Seekers — once you have been hired as an employee, you can no longer delete your account due to audit purposes.